RSS for Education

This is my first experience with RSS feeds and Google Reader. The only thing that I can relate it to is the updates I get on my Facebook page.  I like that Google Reader will give me all the headlines and I don’t have to scroll through status updates and endless posts. Not to offend my Facebook friends, but sometimes it is hard to find what I am looking for.

I was motivated, so I started to look for RSS feeds that interested me right away.  Then, I went back and read the assignment and the part about how I might use RSS in the classroom.   I had to think about this for awhile and how I could use it with 5th/6th graders.  I realized that they are hungry for information too.  I started going to some of my student friendly sites and they too have RSS feeds.  If you know of any kid friendly feeds, please let me know.

My students are responsible for a current event report each month.  They have a different “category” each time they complete the activity.  One month it might be weird news and the next month sports.  Wouldn’t it be cool if I had a bundle of feeds designated for them to use?  I agree, so I created my first bundle with kids in mind and one feed for me.  I think this will be a great time saver.  They will still have to decide if the information is worthy, I’ve just given them a head start.

RSS Teaching Resources

3.1 Media Utilization
Media utilization is the systematic use of resources for learning.

Students will use media resources to gather new information towards a learning goal.

4.2 Resource Management
Resource management involves planning, monitoring, and controlling resource support systems and services.

I will be able to plan and manage which RSS feeds students will use as resources.

 

 

 

About andiarnold

I am a student in the MET program at Boise State.
This entry was posted in 3.1 Media Utilization, 4.2 Resource Management, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

