Worked Examples

Just this past week I introduced my students to Kidblog. I am always trying to find ways to incorporate technology in the classroom. A few colleagues at my school have had great success with using Kidblog. I decided to create my worked example on just the basics of getting started and posting the first blog. I found myself running around the classroom assisting my students with this process. I had demonstrated it with them as a class and then walked them through it. But, it was difficult for some students and we had some technical difficulties with the net books. Had I had this video created prior, I could have posted it on Edmodo and the students could access it. I plan to put it there for students who were absent when we created our accounts.

Creating the worked example was both interesting and frustrating. I couldn’t seem to get my keystrokes from sounding super loud on the video. I applied the clicking reduction but it didn’t seem to work that well. I have had a cold and it seemed that every time I started recording i would need to cough or clear my throat. I used Camtasia. I couldn’t figure out how to splice out a bit of the audio so I recorded in little sections and did several takes of each one.

I think after using Camtasia a few times, it will be easier to navigate. I plan on creating a tutorial on creating tags and categories to help my students organize their blogs. One of our favorite writing activities is to use picture prompts to write a story. I show the students a picture of something and they create a story based on the picture. I have a Picture Prompt category that I would like them to apply to these posts and tag it with a keyword related to the picture. I think this will be a great way for my students to see related posts and for me to look at too.

Here is a link to my worked example/

About andiarnold

I am a student in the MET program at Boise State.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

