Assessment

This week we looked at the importance of assessment both formative and summative.  In order for PBL to work assessments need to be designed around the principles of PBL and the standards which are the core of the project.

I was impressed with the number of resources that are available for teachers.  I spent a lot of time reviewing and looking at different rubrics for assessment. I wanted to find a rubric that not only assessed the components of my project but also included 21st century learning skills.   I used what was available from Rubistar and from my checklist and created a rubric to use for the final project. As I continue to develop my PBL, I need to make sure that the rubric still aligns with the final project.

Prior to introducing the rubric to my students, I would like to get their input.  Student input will allow ownership of the project.  It will also ensure that the language used in the rubric is understandable and that all expectations are clear.

For the presentation portion of my project, I decided to use a presentation rubric from BIE for assessing students presentations.  It is well-organized and expectations are clearly defined.

Overall, the assessment portion is one of the most important aspects of the PBL.  Spending time this week reviewing the components of good assessment has been an eye-opening experience.  It reaffirmed the importance that assessment plays in learning.  It also reminds me that I need to look at all of my assessments again to incorporate the new Idaho Core Standards and 21st century skills as well.

About andiarnold

I am a student in the MET program at Boise State.
This entry was posted in 1.1 Instructional Systems Design, 1.3 Instructional Strategies, 1.4 Learner Characteristics, 3.1 Media Utilization, 5.3 Formative and Summative Evaluation, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

