Internet Safety

This topic has been on my mind a lot lately.  I am the Technology Coach at my school and part of my responsibilities this year is to implement lessons for digital citizenship.  I feel that our school does a good job of keeping our kids safe but with the increasing access to technology in my school, it is time to look at what we do and how we teach it.

Internet safety is not just about searching safely.  Students need to be taught about cyberbullying, identify theft, internet safety, cybercrime, digital footprint and other related topics.  All of these make up being a responxible digital citizen.

One of the best resources I have found on internet safety and digital citizenship is the website Common Sense Media.  There are several resources available for educators.  The Scope and Sequence section is the easiest place to find the different categories available.  What I like is that it is divided up by topic and grade level.  This is a K-12 resource.  The lessons are complete with objectives, materials, teaching plan and aligned with Common Core and NETs standards.  The lessons use a combination of media from print to videos.

The K-2 lesson called, “Going Places Safely” is a great introduction to the internet and gives the students three rules to follow: 1) Always ask your parent (or teacher) first
2) Only talk to people you know 3) Stick to places that are just right for you

These rules are simple and easy to remember. What I love about this lesson is that it makes a connection to the real world how to be safe in the real world is just as important as being safe in a online world.

In the lesson “Talking Safely Online” (3-5) students are introduced to the dangers of online-only friends.  One of the most important tips they gave is to not give out private information.  A checklist of responsible choices is provided to students to go through to evaluate risks.

There are several great lessons on this site.  I choose the two above because they are good introductory lessons and I agree with the rules given and would combine them for all K-5 students.

  1. Always ask your parent (or teacher) first
  2. Only talk to people you know
  3. Stick to places that are just right for you
  4. Don’t give out private information (name, address, phone number, passwords, etc)

Other resources to use with internet safety for teachers:

iSafe.org

kidshealth.org

Digital Citizenship

About andiarnold

I am a student in the MET program at Boise State.
This entry was posted in 3.4 Policies and Regulations, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Internet Safety

  1. Andi,
    I like your post. I am at a small rural school and we have nothing like a technology coach. The lessons and the topics that you talk about that need to be taught to students surprised me. There were some topics that I had not even thought of like digital footprint. I think that it was interesting to see that in your list just because I had never really thought about it in terms of students, but as I thought about it, I thought as teachers we should be think about these things because we need to teach our students about all these topics. I also liked the resources you posted. The Common Sense Media site sounds like an excellent resource. When I get some free time, I am going to look through the site. It sounds like it is a fantastic site.

    Good Job!
    Mark

  2. Tina Marie says:

    Hi Andi,
    You are in a key position to provide insight into this topic, and I’m glad I read your post! Common Sense Media is one of the better sights, as it was mentioned by other students often. Thanks for providing the link to a useful resource for teachers; I have made a note of it! Furthermore, the lessons you include are perfect for teaching K-12 students important Internet safety skills. Nice work!
    Tina

Leave a Reply

